Tags

, , ,

Hoarder and messy, that’s me.  I love to collect things – books, bowls, timber boxes, rocks and shells.  Just to mention a few.  I am not sure why I do, perhaps when looking at or handling it I find myself in another world.  New worlds are easy to fall into through literary channels.  But think about rocks and shells; a sea fossil found in the Australian outback thousands of miles from the ocean.  It’s fascinating stuff and it takes my breath away considering how they got there, what it must have been like when there was a huge inland sea instead of red sand dunes and spinifex.  But all that is about to change.  All my precious, and not so precious, treasures are going under scrutiny.  I want to simplify my life and removing the work in storing, dusting and cleaning these things or moving them to get to something else is going to reduce some stress.  I want to become a minimalist.  Not overnight of course (can such an event occur!).  Just little by little, until I find that balance where I can enjoy more time ‘being’ instead of ‘doing’ as one blogger recently wrote of.  This year, to begin with, I am testing myself with a 365 declutter challenge – one thing goes – every day.  For those of you who have no appreciation of a hoarder’s nature I do not expect you to understand.  365 may not seem like much, but the time involved in going over each item, reflection of special times, places and people, being transported all over again is not a small challenge.  Imagine.  365 journeys in one year.

